About dunes properties of Charleston

dunes properties of Charleston is a real estate, vacation rental and property management company representing the Lowcountry with almost 80 exclusive Charleston beach vacation rental properties, 70 real estate agents and employees, four full-service offices. Nobody knows the Charleston Coast better.

Isle of Palms Office

1400 Palm Boulevard
Isle of Palms, SC 29451

Real Estate Inquiries:
Vacation Rental Inquiries:

Folly Beach Office

31 Center Street
Folly Beach, SC 29439

Real Estate Inquiries:
Vacation Rental Inquiries:

The Real Estate Studio

214 King Street
Charleston, SC 29401

Real Estate Inquiries:
Vacation Rental Inquiries:

Kiawah Seabrook Office

1887 Andell Bluff Boulevard
Johns Island, SC 29455

Real Estate Inquiries:
Vacation Rental Inquiries:

Join Our Mailing List

Tag: charleston history

Historic Charleston Charm – 59 Anson Street

Discover 59 Anson in the heart of Ansonborough

Discover 59 Anson in the heart of Ansonborough

Located in the beautiful Ansonborough district in Historic Charleston, 59 Anson Street is just steps from the City Market and newly renovated Gaillard Auditorium. Being just two blocks from King Street shopping and dining, 59 Anson Street is the perfect location for someone looking for a luxurious, urban lifestyle.

The quiet, shaded streets of Ansonborough offer an array of grand homes built during the 18th and 19 centuries, and includes the oldest house in Charleston, the Col. William Rhett House, built in 1712. Ansonborough is renowned for Historic Charleston elegance and its atmosphere of sweet serenity, and is one of the most sought out neighborhoods on the Charleston Peninsula. In Ansonborough you will find homes with grand columns and piazzas, roof terraces, wrought iron gates, and intricate gardens.

59 Anson Street is no exception when it comes to the grandeur and elegance of the homes in Ansonborough. There are sweeping city and harbor views from the roof top, as well as the double piazza. The home boasts a generous 4378 square feet and has five bedrooms, three full bathrooms, and two half bathrooms. The gourmet kitchen is a chef’s dream and features new stainless appliances and rich dark cabinets. The master suite features a large walk in closet and an en suite with a soaking tub and walk in shower. This house is completely turn-key ready with a complete interior and exterior renovation in 2010. 59 Anson Street has all new HVAC, electrical, plumbing, flooring, interior and exterior paint, appliances, and bathrooms.


A gourmet kitchen, beautiful fireplace in the living area, and a stunning master suite.

59 Anson has recently returned to the market at $2,199,000.  Don’t miss out on this incredible opportunity to live in the heart of Historic Charleston. Contact Jennifer Snowden for more information on this gorgeous property.

Jennifer Snowden
Phone: 843.722.5618
Fax: 843.722.7660
Mobile: 843.860.3546

Happy Carolina Day

If you passed by a flag today and wondered why it was at half mast, it is because it is Carolina Day.

Carolina Day remembers the Battle of Sullivan’s Island.  Today is the 236th anniversary of the major setback to Britain during the American Revolution.

From today’s Post and Courier

On June 28, 1776, when the Declaration of Independence was being hashed out in Philadelphia, the British Navy descended on Fort Sullivan at the south end of the island as thousands of ground troops simultaneously tried to cross Breech Inlet to take the island’s north end.

It was part of Britain’s southern strategy to mobilize loyalists in the South Carolina backcountry and control one of the colonies’ most important ports.

Commodore Peter Parker aimed the might of the British Navy at the palmetto-log fort guarding the harbor entrance while Gen. Henry Clinton tried to take the island with 3,000 troops that had landed on Long Island (now Isle of Palms).

The most famous detail of that day remains the spongy palmetto logs of Fort Sullivan repelling British cannon fire — a detail that guaranteed the palmetto its place as a state icon. But Mac-Intyre said the battle at Breech Inlet was perhaps even more impressive.



Handling the Hunley – A Exploration of History in Charleston

It’s no secret that Charleston is extremely well known for its American history, but what many residents and visitors tend to forget as they cross over the Cooper River bridges is that history is still being made here every day…

Let me begin by taking you back to Charleston for the Civil War: The debate between the North and the South on slavery is heated and not looking as if it can be resolved with discussion. The North wants the South to give up their plantations, the rights to slave ownership, and build factories. The South however, refuses to release their slaves and conflict continues. So after Lincoln’s political election victory, on December 20, 1860, South Carolina becomes the first to secede from the Union. Charleston rejoices the secession with fireworks, cannon fire, and ringing bells.

A few short weeks later on January 9, 1861 Citadel cadets open fire on the Union ship Star of the West in Charleston’s harbor. Star of the West was used to bring military supplies and reinforcements to Fort Sumter. The official start of the war comes yet another couple of months later on April 12, 1861 when General Pierre G.T. Beauregard opens fire on the Union-held Fort Sumter. After 34 hours of bombardment, Major Robert Anderson surrendered the fort for what would be known as the first Confederate victory in the Civil War. This victory lead President Lincoln to order Union forces to begin a blockade of all Southern ports.

Entrance of the Hunley to the Civil War: Years after the first victory for the Confederacy, the Yankee Union has moved South and has destroyed much of the land and cities, bringing despair with them. Confederate soldiers are starving and low on ammunition but refuse to give up even though they are basically surrounded by land and sea. The South attempts to win in water warfare and keep Charleston Harbor open from the North’s war ships with the Hunley.

In August 1863, after news of successful trial runs, the Hunley was moved to Charleston, SC from Mobile, AL, where it was built, for her first and only attack against a live target, the USS Housatonic. The Hunley readied itself for the attack but sadly disappeared off the end of the Fort Johnson wharf on August 29, 1863. General Beauregard ordered it to be raised immediately after the first sinking. Sadly 5 of the 9 crew members had drowned since they were not prepared for the submersion of the sub.

For the second attempt to attack the Union blockade, the Hunley was outfitted with a crew from Mobile who were familiar with her, including inventor Horace L. Hunley himself, to man the ship. Once more, the Hunley sank during a routine diving exercise, this time leaving no survivors. Several days of bad weather prevented another immediate excavation, but when divers submerged, they were shocked to discover her bow stuck in the mud with the hull at a 30 degree angle. It appeared she sank nose first very quickly.

Months of repair, refurbishing, and practice runs lay ahead of the Hunley before she was ready for her third and last attempt to stop the blockage. General Beauregard had become suspicious of the twice-fatal sub but at the urging of Lieutenant George Dixon he agreed to let it run one more time.

On the night of February 17, 1864, the Hunley made her way out to the open water of sea just outside the Charleston Harbor about four miles from Breach Inlet in between Sullivan’s Island and Isle of Palms. Approaching the USS Housatonic, the Hunley was kept safe since the ships cannons couldn’t aim so low. The Hunley punctured the ship with its metal spar, lodged a torpedo inside and quickly backed away. Moving far enough from the ship to rise and signal the shore of Sullivan’s Island with a blue light showing a successful mission, both the sub and ship were then rocked with destruction. Once more, the sub and her crew of 8 were lost.

The Hunley became the first ever submarine to sink an enemy war ship. Questions were immediately raised as to why the sub sank and if she could ever be recovered. 137 years after she sank, the Hunley was discovered just outside the Charleston Harbor by author and adventurer Clive Cussler in 1995 and raised in 2000. Since its recovery the Hunley had been kept in a salt-water tank at the former Charleston Navy Base in North Charleston while crews worked to preserve it and figure out the riddle of the sinking.

This past summer the Hunley was righted for the first time in over a century and a little more than two weeks ago, the outer truss that held the sub in place and protected its iron shell since its raising has been removed. Visitors to the museum can now completely see the entirety of the sub for the first time since 1864. Also new to the Hunley is the chemical bath the archeologists have exchanged for salt water as they hope to preserve the iron by slowly drawing the salt out.

Though the Hunley will never again be seen in battle, an organization named “Friends of the Hunley” plans to open Hunley Museum in a few years once preservation is complete so visitors and residents alike can view the historic sub responsible for the first enemy war ship sinking.

If you’d like to explore Charleston further, Charleston Harbor Tours is doing free tours for Tri-County residents this Sunday, January 29, 2012, onboard the Carolina Belle at 11:30, 1:30, and 3:30. Just show up 30 minutes before the tour at the Charleston Maritime Center to be instructed on where to go.

– Amanda Graham