Sullivan’s House, a historic renovation of Sullivan’s Island
Originally constructed in 1924 as a schoolhouse known as the Sullivan’s Island Graded School, the building now known as Sullivan’s House was built in the Craftsman architectural style. By 1938, two wings were added to the east and west, and a portico was constructed at the west wing’s façade. Over the years, this building served as a church and a gathering place and the 1938 footprint remains intact today.
A recent restoration blends historic details mingled with artfully selected modern finishes to create the four luxury residences of Sullivan’s House. The project was developed by a group led by Patrick W. Marr, Steven G. Kleiman, and David C. Stern. Laura Middleton was the lead architect of The Middleton Group, an award-winning firm that has completed many historic renovation projects in Charleston. With interiors by designer Carol Lund, and timeless landscaping by Kelly D. Messier, Sullivan’s House is as beautiful as it is historic.